Skip to main content
Cowes wins Bike Ed Challenge

Cowes wins Bike Ed Challenge

Thursday 26 September 2019

Cowes Primary School students have once again been named the winners of the annual Bass Coast Bike Ed Challenge. Congratulations!

The Challenge is open to all Primary Schools in Bass Coast and this year, eleven teams from five schools entered.

The Bike Ed Challenge event builds on the safety, balance and control skills of the Bike Ed programs that operate in primary schools.

For the Challenge, eight riders in each team ride around a set course where they are assessed on their balance and control skills, including a slalom course, scanning, riding straight, riding slowly, turning at a roundabout and at traffic lights, and tight U-turns. They are also assessed on the roadworthiness of their bike and helmet.

The team from Cowes, as well as second and third placed Bass Valley and Wonthaggi primary school teams will now progress to the Regional Final against other Gippsland schools, to be held at Morwell.

“This is a great way to get kids riding their bikes and improving their skills, while also having a bit of fun,” Bass Coast Shire Mayor, Cr Brett Tessari, said.

“We want our kids to be safe and get outdoors. The Bike Ed program is a fantastic way to do this.”

Bike Ed and the Bike Ed Challenge have been supported by the Bass Coast Community Road Safety Committee for the past 15 years, which has been vital to the implementation of these programs.

The Phillip Island Bicycle User Group provided assessors for the Challenge, as well as the sausage sizzle lunch for all involved. Wheelheat of Wonthaggi provided bikes and helmets for winning schools and top scoring riders, as well as other prizes for Encouragement Awards. Wonthaggi Bluelight provided bikes for use in Bike Ed programs and for the Challenge, as well as some of the awards and Wonthaggi Police maintain the Bike Ed bikes and trailers and transport these to the schools.

from left, the winning team from Cowes Primary School, Ryelan Vanleeuwen, Ezra Allen-Filis, Pepper Burke, Dusty Evans, Max Taylor, Charlie Wilson, Alyssa Rogers, and Sienna Macmillan with coordinator of the Bike Education Program Don Turner.